Su navegador no acepta javascript
San Martín. Uncastillo

San Martín. Uncastillo

Monasterio de Rueda

Monasterio de Rueda

Thematic offers

Middle Ages: Romanesque and Cistercian

During the Middle Ages, as the Muslims retreated, the Christian conquerors saw the need to colonise their new territories through religious entities and the creation of stable population centres. It was in this period that Romanesque art – the formal characteristics of which came from continental Europe – flourished as a natural expression of the new feudal society.

The burgeoning Kingdom of Aragon started being filled with enormous defensive fortresses constructed of solid stone and monasteries and churches built in the same material but decorated with paintings and sculpture in geometrical, vegetable or figurative themes. This sculpture combined an ornamental value with a symbolic and didactic function as it conveyed biblical instruction to the faithful.

In the province of Zaragoza there are many examples of Romanesque architecture, though perhaps the most spectacular can be found in the town of Daroca and, especially, in the Upper Cinco Villas (Five Towns) – notably in the enclaves of Uncastillo and Sos del Rey Católico.

A further way of expression in the mediaeval era is the Cistercian which is also present in the territories of Zaragoza. This came due to the expansion of a monastic order, with its roots in France, which sought a return to the austerity of early Christianity. This sober style of decoration – featuring structures of exquisite construction that prefigure the gothic style – was used in the construction of the imposing Monastery of Veruela (in the foothills of Moncayo), the Monastery of Piedra (near to Calatayud) and the Monastery of Rueda (halfway along the course of the Ebro).

Printable version

Thematic offers

Middle Ages: Romanesque and Cistercian


Jewish Spain


Natural Surroundings




















descargas Arte románico al sur del Ebro
[documento pdf]
descargas Arte románico Cinco Villas
[documento pdf]
descargas Folleto Císter
[documento pdf]
mapa interactivo
El románico en mapa

Office of tourism


Oficina de Turismo de Daroca C/ Mayor, 44 • T. 976 800 129 /

Ejea de los Caballeros

Oficina de Turismo de Ejea de los Caballeros Paseo del Muro, 2 • T. 976 66 41 00 / 976 67 74 74 /

Monasterio de Piedra

Monasterio de Piedra Nuévalos • T. 976 87 07 00 /


Oficina de Turismo en Sádaba C/ General Carlos de Castro • T. 669 859 750 /

Sos del Rey Católico

Oficina de turismo de Sos del Rey Católico Palacio de Sada. Pza. Hispanidad • T. 948 888 524 /


Oficina de Turismo de Tarazona Pza. San Francisco, 1 • T. 976 640 074 / 976 19 90 76 /


Oficina de Turismo de Tauste Cuesta de la cámara • T. 976 855 694 / 976 85 49 50 (Ayto) /


Oficina de Turismo de Uncastillo Iglesia de S. Martín - C/ Santiago • T. 976 679 061 /

Monasterio de Veruela

Monasterio de Veruela Paseo de Veruela, s/n. Vera de Moncayo • T. 976 649 025 /


Oficina de información y dinamización turística de Navardún y la Bal d'Onsella • Torreón de Navardún • T. 948 439 507


Oficina de Turismo de Zaragoza (Pza. del Pilar) Pza. del Pilar, s/n • T. 976 721 281 /

Turismo de Zaragoza • T. 902 142 008 / 976 201 200 /

Oficina de Turismo de Zaragoza (Aeropuerto) • T. 976 780 982 /

Oficina de Turismo de Zaragoza (Torreón de la Zuda) Torreón de la Zuda (Glorieta Pío XII, s/n) • /

Oficina de Turismo de Zaragoza (Estación Delicias) /

Oficina de Turismo del Gobierno de Aragón Plaza España, 1 • T. 976 796 398 / 976 282 181 (ext 2) / 902 477 000 /